Site Search | Site Map | Contact SELA

The Southern Books Competition 

2012 Southern Books Competition Award Winners (PDF)

The Southeastern Library Association started the competition in 1952.  Trade publishers, university presses, specialty publishers, and private presses – located in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Puerto Rico – are eligible to enter the competition. 

The competition represents the Association’s commitment to the book as a vital part of library service.  Awards are made on the basis of design, typography, and quality of production.  Judges are knowledgeable book people associated with book design, binding, printing, bookselling, publishing, and librarianship. 

After award-winning books for the biennium are exhibited at the conference of the Association, they are available for a traveling exhibit for loan to institutions and organizations that wish to display them.  A permanent archive is maintained at the W.T. Young Library at the University of Kentucky and the Lexington Public Library in Lexington.

Southern Books Competition Winners

 2011  2010  2009  2008  2007  2006  2005  2004