Charles E. Beard Award

Charles E. Beard's Biography

The Southeastern Library Association is accepting nominations for the SELA Charles E Beard Award (formerly President's Award). The purpose of the award is to honor an individual outside the library profession who has made a significant contribution to the development or promotion of libraries in the Southeast. The President's Award was established by the Executive Board of SELA in March, 1988. The Charles E. Beard Award Committee is appointed by the President of SELA and shall include members from a variety of states in SELA.


Criteria and Guidelines

  1. The award is given to an individual outside the library profession who has made a significant contribution to Southeastern libraries in one or more states.
  2. The award will be made to one person in a biennium, typically at the SELA conference. If no suitable nomination is received, may be omitted for that biennium.
  3. Nomination must be made by an SELA member. The recipient need not be a member of the association.

Nomination Form: Word | PDF
Deadline for submission of nomination: August 20, 2021.


Required information: Persons nominating an individual should forward the nomination form, and a resume of the nominee including professional/business and association activities, membership in civic organizations, writings if pertinent, single events and or other honors received. The person making the nomination will include a short statement outlining the nominee's major contribution(s) to the Librarianship in the Southeast. Supporting documentation such as articles in local, statewide and national press, brochures, correspondence, letters of commendation, etc... are welcome and encouraged.

E. Lorene Flanders,
Chair, Charles E. Beard Award Committee
Executive Director, University of South Alabama Libraries
Mobile, Alabama 


Previous Charles E. Beard Award (President's Award) Winners:

1988 Barbara Cooper, Orlando, FL
1990 Alex P. Allain, Jeanerette, LA
1992 Herman Moore, Birmingham, AL
1994 Minnie Lou Lynch, Oakland, LA
1996 Jane Norcross, DeKalb County, GA
1998 George Harding, Lebanon, TN
2000 Elinor Swaim, NC
2002 None Awarded
2004 Frye Galliard & Amy Rogers of Novello Festival Press, NC
2006 Doug McNamara, Mumford Library Books, Jacksonville, FL
2008 Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
2010 None Awarded
2012 Melvin Steely, Director of Georgia's Political Heritage Program, University of West Georgia
2014 None Awarded
2016 Kendrick B. Melrose