Hal Mendelsohn Award

Hal Mendelsohn
Hal Mendelsohn's Biography
To honor a librarian who has exhibited continual, dedicated, outstanding service to the Southeastern Library Association.


The Hal Mendelsohn Award was established by the Executive Board in 2012 in recognition of Hal Mendelsohn's dedicated service to the Southeastern Library Association.


  1. Must have made significant contributions to SELA through unselfish, dedicated service to the organization. This service should reflect involvement requiring extensive investment of time and effort.
  2. Must be a current member of SELA and have been a member for at least 3 years.
  3. The nominations will be made by the president and the winner will be decided by the board.
  4. If no nominations are made, the award may be omitted.

Previous Hal Mendelsohn Award Winners List

2012  Hal Mendelsohn
2014   Camille McCutcheon
2016 Gordon Baker
2018 Beverly James