Southern Books Competition

You are cordially invited to submit a book to the SELA 2020 Southern Books Competition (Deadline September 25, 2020).   Please see Southern Books Competition (2020) for for entry information and an online payment form.

The Southeastern Library Association started the competition in 1952. Trade publishers, university presses, specialty publishers, and private presses located in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Puerto Rico are eligible to enter the competition.

The competition represents the Association's commitment to the book as a vital part of library service. Awards are made on the basis of design, typography, and quality of production. Judges are knowledgeable book people associated with book design, binding, printing, bookselling, publishing, and librarianship.

After award-winning books for the biennium are exhibited at the conference of the Association, they are available for a traveling exhibit for loan to institutions and organizations that wish to display them. A permanent archive is maintained at the W.T. Young Library at the University of Kentucky and the Lexington Public Library in Lexington.

2018 Southern Books Competition Awards

Overall Excellence - "Seeking Eden: a Collection of Georgia's Historic Gardens" by Staci L. Caton and Mary Ann Eaddy

Award of Excellence: Hard Cover - "The Southern Foodways Alliance Guide to Cocktails" by Sara Camp Milam

Award of Excellence: Photography - "A High Low Tide: the Revival of the Southern Oyster by Andre' Joseph Gallant and John Griswold