Outstanding Southeastern Author Award


  1. Authors must be native or bona fide residents of a SELA state at the time the work was written or published.
  2. Works must be chosen based on literary merit.
  3. Two awards may be made: one in fiction and one in non-fiction.
  4. In each category, works must have been published within five years prior to December 31 of the year preceding the biennial conference.
  5. The person making the nomination must be a member of SELA.


Submit nominations on this form along with any accompanying material (not to exceed four pages for each entry). Include reason(s) for nomination, book reviews, biography, and the like to the committee chair. Copies of the nominations will be distributed to all committee members.

For more information contact:
Dr. Gordon N. Baker, Chair SELA Administrative Services
SELA Outstanding Author Award Committee
P.O. Box 30703
Savannah, GA 31410
Email: gordonbaker@clayton.edu
Phone: 912-777-8607


Previous Outstanding Southeastern Author Award Winners List

Nomination Form

Deadline for submission of nomination: May 01,2024

Click here! (PDF) Click here! (Word)